Auto insurance is one of the few purchases we make that we hope we never need to use. But having insurance gives you the peace of mind that if something does happen, you and your car or property are protected.
If you’re one of the hundreds of thousands of drivers on Maryland roads who don’t have insurance, you don’t have that peace of mind. And getting behind the wheel is likely a stressful experience, trying to anticipate and avoid accidents and hoping that something unforeseen doesn’t cross your path.
Driving uninsured is an unnecessary and expensive complication in your life.
Penalties and Fines
The state of Maryland requires all vehicle owners to insure their cars with liability, uninsured motorist, and personal injury protection (PIP) coverages. Drivers who fail to meet these requirements face uninsured penalties from the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA).
First 30 days without Insurance = $150 penalty
Every day after = $7/day
These penalties add up quickly. Over the course of a year, they will reach $2,500 in fines – per vehicle!
If you fail to provide proof of coverage for your vehicle, MDOT MVA will suspend your registration. This means that you cannot legally drive your car, register a new vehicle, or renew your tag. And if you are caught driving with a suspended registration, your vehicle may be impounded.
In addition, without insurance, you aren’t able to provide valid proof of coverage if you are involved in a traffic stop or an accident – which is a requirement for all Maryland drivers. Failure to do so carries a $50 fine.
In some states, if you drive without insurance and are involved in an accident, you will not be able to collect for your damages, even if the other person is at fault.
If you are in someone else’s car which is involved in an accident and you don’t carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage on your own vehicle, you can’t collect from their PIP coverage for your injuries.
But more importantly, if you are found to be at fault for an accident, you will be held personally liable for the damages to any other vehicles or property and/or any bodily injuries resulting from the accident. These costs can be thousands of dollars at minimum.
You also open yourself up to lawsuits, costing you even more money in the long run. And without insurance, you do not have access to representation in a lawsuit by your insurance company’s defense attorney.
When times are tight, driving without insurance, and “just being careful” can seem like a way to save money. But in the blink of an eye, something out of your control can have a significant financial impact
For more information about Maryland’s auto insurance requirements, click here.