If you are a Maryland driver who registers your vehicle in Virginia, you need to know about a new law coming this summer. Starting on July 1, 2024, Virginia drivers will no longer have the option to pay an uninsured motorist vehicle fee and drive without auto insurance coverage. Details on the new insurance requirements can be found at: law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-706/

As a result of Virginia’s insurance requirement, some Marylanders who register vehicles in Virginia may seek to register and insure their vehicles in Maryland. If you or someone you know faces hurdles due to lapses in coverage, Maryland Auto is here to help. A Maryland Auto authorized provider can guide you through your coverage options. To find an authorized Maryland Auto provider near you, visit www.mymarylandauto.com.

In addition, Maryland Auto offers multiple policy payment options to help fit our policyholders’ needs. This includes an 8% discount on annual premium when policyholders pay their policy in full at the time of purchase. Maryland Auto customers also have the option to utilize our 0% interest payment plan. Policyholders who choose to finance their policies through a premium financing company (a third-party lender).

While Virginia will continue to allow out of state residents to register vehicles in the Commonwealth, Maryland requires residents to register their vehicles in Maryland and obtain auto coverage within two months of becoming a resident of the state. According to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration website, “new residents of Maryland must register their vehicle within 60 days of moving to Maryland. Beyond those 60 days, there will not be eligibility for a tax credit for any titling tax paid in another state, and the driver may be subject to a citation for an out of state registration.” You can learn more at mva.maryland.gov/Pages/vehicle-registrationand-titling-questions.aspx

  • Uncategorized